A Life Of Fiction VII

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Since my last update I have begun to put extracts from some of the supplements for my Gas-Lamp Fantasy Role-playing Game on the site. They can be found with the prefix RPG for role-playing game. I hope to add to these over the coming works so that I have an extract from each of the supplements which I have done. Some of these are available on Kindle; others I still have to put on the e-book site.

I must admit that, when putting on an extract from an RPG supplement, that I find it much harder to pick the segment to put on than any of my literary works. I don’t want to put on the very best page of my work, as then anybody who actually purchases such a work might be disappointed by the rest of it. But I don’t want to put on something which is dull or of no use, either.

If you are a role-player post a comment and let me know what you think.

The only thing which I am putting on Amazon at the moment is My Hundred Favourite Poems. This is a collection of a hundred of my own poems, the ones which aren’t necessarily the best verse, but the poems which I have written which mean the most to me. Samples of those poems are available one the pages About My Poems and About My Poems II.

The idea of the collection is so that somebody who is not a completist in regard to my work (is there such a thing?) can get a broad selection of my humble doggerel, without having to track down the twenty odd other poetry collections which I have done. I suppose it can be considered to be a Best Of. It took me several weeks to choose the poems, going through all of my collections over and over again.

Although poetry will never make me rich, it is important to me, in that it is something which has helped me through the dark tea-time of the soul. Writing calms me down; and poetry most so. So I hope that some other people might find my offerings interesting, at the very least.

As some of the stories for Unbegun Tales IV won’t be out of copyright until 2016 in the UK at the earliest I have decided to slowly put the other short stories from that work on this website, one free story at a time. Should I publish Unbegun Tales IV in 2016 or later, then I will probably delete those free stories from this website. So enjoy them while you can.

The Mourning of the Magician should now be on this site, unless something has gone awry. In future weeks it will be followed by Hesperides Cider, Bad Effects, Warriors of the Wasteland, Killers on the Roam, The Bog and The Meticulous Examination of Pre-Ordained Destinies. The River That Flowed Uphill and The Fast Food Diet are already on this site.

Despite earlier posts saying that I had decided to put short stories to bed I have just started work on Unbegun Tales V…

Leave a Reply

