A Life Of Fiction VIII

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

So here we are again, full of joy and bliss… As promised, I have added the free short story Hesperides Cider to the sample stories on this site. What else? There is a link to Grande valise, a cool band featuring a couple of my friends. There is not much to add, on this post, apart from that I was going to add a link to the official Alan Moore site, only to discover that the site did not appear to be working. I’ll try it again in the future, as he is one of the comic nook writers of whom I am a big fan.

So, apart from the occasional updates to this site, I plough on (or plow, if you’re American), cutting my lonely furrow. But authors must, by necessity, be alone, as it is hard to write if you have the distractions of having other members of Homo sapiens around you.

All authors need a routine. Mine is to get up, turn the computer on, and write until I have done an average of three thousand words for the day. some of the time it only takes me three or four hours, depending how inspired I have been feeling. at other times it takes me well into the evening. And woe betide anybody who has the temerity to knock on the door while I am trying to write. I tend to give these visitors from Porlock short shrift. I have no desire to lose any genius sentence, like Samuel Taylor Coleridge did with his epic poem about Xanadu. so I will keep writing until I can put the keyboard away for another day, and relax and watch some quiz programme on the television, one where I end up shouting at the screen, unable to believe that people don’t know that Saturn was the Roman equivalent of Cronus.

Except that I find that I need to be doing something with my spare time. I have a lot of free time, and I hate to waste it. I need to be working on something; if not my novels, then my poetry. I have spent two years working on an unfinished Gas-Lamp Fantasy RPG, but it is on hiatus, at the moment, while I recharge my batteries – after two years I needed a break from working on it every day.

I need to end here. I have not done y writing for the day, and those three thousand words won’t write themselves, alas…

Leave a Reply

