A Life Of Fiction XIV

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Returning to Shimmersway: I am the kind of author who tends to work on several different projects at the same time, slowly pottering away on them, bringing them to completion. But, sometimes, I will put a project aside for a long time, maybe years, while I ponder the project. Some people might call it writer’s block; but I consider it simply getting things right in my head, and not rushing things.

Some of the projects lying fallow have been in that state for years, but I intend to complete them all, eventually, one way or another. As long as I feel that the original idea is good enough, that is all that really matters to me.

One project which I am planning a return to (as soon as I finish writing The Hulk horror novella) is my fantasy novel Shimmersway. It has been lying fallow for about three and a half years, without me doing any work on it.

I have thought about the novel several times during that period, however, and I now feel the desire to tell the story of Shimmersway. If you are writing a novel you have to have that burning desire. Never let writing become a chore.

Shimmersway, in the eponymous novel, is a person who has suffered many crimes against her, and her race, the Night People. She and her folk have been enslaved by the corrupt Galatean Empire. The novel tells the story of her revenge on the society and individuals who have wronged her. I don’t want to reveal too much of the details here – I have worked them all out, and they are currently rattling around inside my head – as I hope that some of you will one day read the completed novel.

Being a fantasy novel, it is almost de rigeur that I create the fantasy world which it is set in. I enjoy this act of creation; and I have actually designed several different worlds in the past, usually for my role-playing games.

In creating such a new world the most important thing is to be original – not that easy with so many (bad) fantasy novels out there. I love AD&D, but I don’t want to create a world which rips off that system, or the Discworld, or which apes the world of Middle Earth.

As to whether I will succeed in creating a new and interesting world – well, I am about a hundred thousand words from finding out, I guess.

Leave a Reply

