A Life Of Fiction XVI

A Life Of Fiction XVI

 

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

The Edwyn Le Fay stories: Some of you may have noticed that there are a number of stories on this site featuring a character by the name of Edwyn Le Fay. These are gas-lamp fantasy stories, and are set in the same world as the tales of Briggs and Prenderghast, in a world where Magick is real. The stories begin in the year 1894.

I wrote the first story, The Dark House, just as a one-off story, to give people something which they could read for free, rather than having to download a collection of my stories on Kindle. But I also wrote it as a way of getting back into gas-lamp fantasy, after having a break from working on either the stories or on my gas-lamp fantasy game.

The main protagonist of the tale is a rather witless wizard by the name of Edwyn Le Fay. He is fascinated by Magick in all its forms, including Black Magick, although he is definitely not an evil character. He is just a little naïve. That naivety is something which can get a person into all sorts of scrapes.

After completing The Dark House I had an idea for another short story, The House On The Cliff. That story was partially based on a short, one-off gas-lamp fantasy RPG scenario which I ran for a couple of friends. As I was completing the short story, I saw how it could lead into another one, and so on. I have now written several stories, or possibly chapters, featuring Edwyn Le Fay.

It was originally intended that the stories should be stand alone, but, with time, they are becoming more like Saturday morning serials, or a chapter in a book. What I will do is to keep writing these tales of Edwyn Le Fay’s adventures, until I get bored of him, or until I run out of steam. At the moment, though, I am ‘in the flow’, and the words are simply pouring out of me.

The stories will all appear for free on this web-site, at least for the moment. Should I actually write enough to collect them all together then they will appear in a publication which I am calling The Complete Blogs Volume One, which may eventually be published on Kindle, should it reach a high enough word count. That will feature all of my blog posts, plus any short stories which don’t feature elsewhere. At the moment, though, that is only on 39,000 words, and I would like it to be at least 100,000 words before I offer it up to the general public.

When it is complete, I may take the free short stories which feature in it down from this website (although there will be other free stories in the future). Until such a time as that, though, the short stories – or serialised novel, whatever it is – featuring Edwyn Le Fay will only be available here.

The stories should be read in this order:

The Dark House

The House On The Cliff

Mr Naith and Mr Naith

Searching For Gideon De Ville

The Evil Plans Of Gideon De Ville

Edwyn Le Fay At The Trismegistus Club

Lochindorb Castle

Dark Rumours

An Enforced Vacation

Edwyn Le Fay In Oxford

Not all of the chapters have action, in them, I’m afraid. Some simply set the scene for later events in the affairs of Le Fay. As to how it will all end… well, I haven’t quite decided. But my gas-lamp fantasy tales do tend to have happy endings. So there is a good chance that will be the same for this foolish young man.

I had better sign off now, and write a few more words on Edwyn Le Fay, as his story won’t write itself.

 

Leave a Reply

