A Life Of Fiction XXI

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Tsundoku: Recently I encountered the Japanese word Tsundoku, which – if I understand correctly – is the feeling that you get when you look at all of the books which you have bought but not got around to reading (and may never get around to reading). I’m not sure what the Japanese feel when they look at some book which they have bought thinking I must read that and then, five years later, it is still unread. But what I feel is something akin to despair directed at myself.

Nobody buys books not intending to read them – that would be a waste of money. But, (I don’t know about other people,) I have to be in the right sort of mood to read a particular sort of novel. I go through fads and phases, of wanting to read some horror novels, or detective novels, or something a little more literary. I am a massive Stephen King fan, but I still have to be in the mood to read one of his works (I still haven’t finished Cell).

I get a lot of books from charity shops, such as Oxfam and their ilk. I browse through those places because they are cheap, and we don’t have a second hand book store in the town in which I live. So, because if you don’t buy a book when you see it in a place like that it might be gone the next time that you call in, I have bought a lot of books as impulse purchases – get them while you can. I have a very limited income, and I will only by a book new if I really, really want it (a new David Mitchell, for example).

I try to always read books which other people have given me as presents. But it may take a year or so, though, for them to make it to become a bedside read.

I have bought a fair few books over the years. A lot of those are part of the ‘research library’ for my novels. But a lot of the books are worthy fiction which I have acquired fully intending to read, but haven’t yet found the time (I will read them, I promise).

These books include, but are not limited to:

Love In the Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Leviathan – Thomas Hobbes

Tales Of The City ­– Armistead Maupin

Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie

The Shipping News – Annie Proulx

Brick Lane – Monica Ali

Vernon God Little – D B C Pierre

…and many, many more.

However, I do sometimes get around to reading books which I have bought years ago. Since starting this website books which I have read – and which I have had on my bookshelves for a very long time, include:

Miss Marple’s Final Cases – Agatha Christie

Murder On The Orient Express­ – Agatha Christie

The Peoples of Middle-Earth – J R R Tolkien

That is in addition to reading recent purchases, like The Thousand Autumns Of Jakob De Zoet, and re-reading the first seven Necroscope novels by Brian Lumley. Re-reading the Lumley novels took some time, as each one is pretty thick.

I will eventually get around to reading all of the unread novels on my eight bookshelves. All that I have to do is to live to around one hundred and twenty or so…

In other news, I am still putting more of the chronicles of the hapless wizard Edwyn Le Fay on the site. I have added a couple of new chapters, listed below, to hopefully avoid any confusion.

The stories should be read in this order:

The Dark House

The House On The Cliff

Mr Naith and Mr Naith

Searching For Gideon De Ville

The Evil Plans of Gideon De Ville

Edwyn Le Fay At The Trismegistus Club

Lochindorb Castle

Dark Rumours

An Enforced Vacation

Edwyn Le Fay In Oxford

Back To London

The House Of Edward Lang

The Captive Edwyn Le Fay

Betrayed

More chapters will follow, until the story of Edwyn Le Fay is complete.

 

Leave a Reply

