A Life Of Fiction XXII

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

On this post I return to the theme of why I write.

Who Do You Write For? Occasionally people have asked me why I bother writing, considering that I am not currently published by a book publisher, and I am self-publishing the vast majority of my work on Kindle (in fact, the only things which I haven’t put on there are those items with copyright considerations). They seem to think as though I am wasting my time, the subtext being that, because I am not published at the moment, that I will never be published in the future.

I beg to differ, as they say. Every author begins their career as an unpublished author, before they get that big breakthrough. True, there are many authors who will never get published. But if you consider yourself to permanently belong to that category why bother picking up a pen in the first place? Think of all the successful authors, from Dan Brown to J K Rowling, who have been turned down, and struggled to find an outlet for their work. I doubt if I will ever earn as much money as they have. But the point isn’t about the money. It is about never giving up. Keep plugging away, chipping away at that wall of exclusion, until you make that great breakthrough, and your words come rolling off the printing presses.

From what I have just written above you might presume that I write with the desire to be published, and it is dreams of fame and wealth which keep me going. Yes, I would like to actually get some money for my work, but that is not why I write (although I would never turn money down).

I write, ultimately, to please myself, with the hope that if I create something which I enjoy then there is somebody else there who also enjoys reading it. I write the sort of novels which I like to read but have not been written yet. I am a big fan of Jules Verne, H G Wells, Rider Haggard and Conan Doyle, which is why a lot of my novels have a Victorian setting.

I write horror novels because I enjoy reading horror novels. But I always try to make mine different to those which have gone before. There is little point in producing a bad pastiche of Dracula, for example.

Writing fulfils a need which I have to be creative. It is a need which shows no sign of dissipating, despite the millions of words which I have already written. In fact, I am cursed with coming up with ideas for novels faster than I complete them. My fear is that I will die before I have written everything which I intend to. Still, though, at least my finished works outnumber those I have started and temporarily put aside. Slowly I make progress, at a rate of three thousand words per day (on average).

If I was an artist I would paint (and once I had delusions of becoming a fine artist, and living off selling my paintings). If I was an architect I would design wonderful buildings, like none yet built. But I am a writer, and I need to write – it is my one shot at immortality – and so I will write all these new stories that I like to read.

In other news, I am still putting more of the chronicles of the hapless wizard Edwyn Le Fay on the site. I have added a couple of new chapters, listed below, to hopefully avoid any confusion.

The stories should be read in this order:

The Dark House

The House On The Cliff

Mr Naith and Mr Naith

Searching For Gideon De Ville

The Evil Plans of Gideon De Ville

Edwyn Le Fay At The Trismegistus Club

Lochindorb Castle

Dark Rumours

An Enforced Vacation

Edwyn Le Fay In Oxford

Back To London

The House Of Edward Lang

The Captive Edwyn Le Fay

Betrayed

The Other Lair Of Gideon De Ville

The Human Infernal Device

More chapters will follow, until the story of Edwyn Le Fay is complete.

 

Leave a Reply

