A Life Of Fiction XXVI

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Last month I talked about building a research library. This time I think that I will talk about promoting your work.

I am, in fact, terrible at doing that. It does probably not help that, due to mental problems, I do not like meeting people who I don’t know.

One of these reasons why I started this WordPress site is to try and promote my work. But with only a hundred and something people checking out the site, so far, it has not gone as well as I would have liked.

I am not internet-savvy. I would be the first person to admit that. In fact, I’m not really all that keen on technology. I don’t even have the internet at home, as I don’t have a phone line, and I am only posting these updates to my site courtesy of a very nice friend of mine. I still make mistakes, however, while trying to put these updates on line, even though WordPress is fairly easy to use.

I think that authors need publishers just to promote them, if nothing more. Publishers can nominate you for literary prizes. They can arrange signings, where people can come and have you put your autograph on their books. You can’t really do signings, unfortunately, if your only published work is on Kindle. What, are you supposed to sign the Kindle device? I don’t think anybody would want me to scribble my name over their electronic device.

How do you promote yourself on the internet when you don’t like human contact, not even at the end of a computer. It is still something of a mystery to me, like did anything happen before the Big Bang and hyper-inflation, or how the people of Russia can tolerate being ruled by somebody like Vladimir Vladimirovich Putin.

I digress, again. Find ways to promote your work. Tell people about it on Facebook, if you must subscribe to that site. If you are a poet, find out of any of the taverns close to you have Open Mic nights. I have read out my poetry at such events (although, oddly, before putting any of my poems on the internet). It is quite a thrill, the first few times, to stand in front of people and subject them to your verse. It is as close as I get to an adrenalin rush. Haven’t done one of those nights in some time, though. I guess that I should give it another go – and at the end announce that the poems which they heard are available to purchase on the Amazon Kindle store.

I have considered having business cards made, with the name of this site on them, so that people can come and check out some of my work. I fear, though, that the cost of having the cards done might outweigh any money they might eventually bring me. Such cards can only reach those people who I actually meet – and, living the life of a near recluse, I meet very few people.

It has been suggested to me that I should join a few like-minded forums, and post things there, and hopefully people might come and check my work out. Not a bad idea, but I couldn’t find a gas-lamp fantasy forum, perhaps surprisingly. It is possible that I was not looking hard enough. I joined Steampunk Empire (they’re in the links) instead, and I have posted a few comments there. They seem to be welcoming enough. But I don’t know if any of them have checked out either my novels or this site; and I don’t like to simply put out some comment telling them to buy my novels. That would be just spam, as far as I am concerned. But I will persevere, in the hope that some of them may become curious as to who I am.

A friend of mine has bought me the rights to gaslampfantasy.co.uk. His idea was that I should transfer everything from this site over to the other one. The only flaw with that was that my friend did not realise how ignorant I really am of the technology and the internet. I can just about post things on WordPress, due to the fact that it is so easy to do so (even then I keep forgetting my password). But transferring stuff from one site to another? Building a site? That is waaaay beyond my know-how. I am learning, though, albeit slowly.

That does not mean that those of you who are more internet-savvy than I cannot do things like that, though.

Promote your stuff. Do all of the things which I haven’t done. I wish you all the best of success.

If you have liked this site and you think that somebody else might like it then, please, tell them about it. Telephone, telegram and tell-a-friend. It is not just about getting money from people buying my novels via Kindle (although that does come into it). I want people to enjoy my writing, and the many hours which I spend typing out my stories not to have been in vain. Ideally I would like to be able to support myself through my work, so that I no longer have to draw on government benefits. But there seems no chance of that, at least in the short term.

I am not going to give up (and neither should any other budding authors out there).

Goodbye, I guess, until the next time.

PS: Just finished writing The Mole Machine, the first of three novels intended to star Professor Meerschaum and Jackson, his long-suffering manservant. I hope to post an extract from the novel on this WordPress site, in due course.

Leave a Reply

