A Life of Fiction XXXV

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Scraps: I keep finding ideas for old stories from years ago, when I was just beginning to do a lot of writing. This is back from before I even had a typewriter, let alone anything as advanced as a computer.

The most recent ideas I found for stories was a scrap of A4, folded up and divided, with some of it torn up, and with a few story ideas scribbled down into each division. I say ‘most recent, in that I only found the scrap of paper a few days ago. But the ideas had been written down a long, long time ago. The story titles which I had come up with, in the past, were:

Red, White and Blue

Snake’s Eyes

The Thrown-awayers

Reservations For An Iron Halo

Insomnia, 5 AM

The King of Nothingness

Milk: A Cowland story

One More Scar

The Utter Sterility of Perfection

The notes accompanying those titles were very brief. They were intended just to be a spur to further ideas. For example, for Milk: A Cowland Story I had simply put what happens when the cows produce too much milk? That was all that I had put. The rest of the story would be developed inside my head.

At this juncture I should probably state that I have done a series of tales called The Cowland Stories. These are set in a magical place of perfect fields inhabited by cows, an alternate reality where, generally, there aren’t any human beings. I have completed several short stories set in that place, but not enough, yet, for any sort of a collection to be published.

Milk: A Cowland Story is a story which I have started, in the past, but not yet completed. I am still waiting for a spark of genius concerning that particular tale.

Reservations For An Iron Halo and The Utter Sterility of Perfection are stories which I wrote in the past. I actually got around to doing them, and I think that they may have appeared in one of my collections of short stories. I have also written a chapter on insomnia for the first volume of my autobiography.

The other tales, however, are ones which I had not even begun. So I decided to make amends. I chose two of the more promising ideas – One More Scar and The Thrown-Awayers – for the fifth volume of Unbegun Tales. As I write these words One More Scar is almost complete, while I still have a lot of work to do on the other short story.

I have decided that the other ideas – Red, White and Blue and Snake’s Eyes – were not good enough ideas to be developed into full short stories. They were the sort of ideas which have been done many times before. So those tales will remain unwritten, at least for the moment.

Whether they will remain unwritten forever is a different matter, though. I hate leaving something unfinished. Not even starting it is even worse. But, for me, it is a question of time: of finding enough time to finish off everything which I have started. At the moment, though, I am trying to finish off some of those novels which I have started in the past.

There are a few squiggles on the scrap of paper. I can’t even read the title of one of my ideas for a short story. As, below the illegible title, it reads channelling future ghosts, a warning of what is to come I’m not sure what that tale would have been about. But I guess that it would not have a happy ending.

Elsewhere on that scrap of paper is something about cannibal ravioli red sauce don’t ask. So I won’t.

The paper will go into the dustbin, when I’m sure that the ideas on it can’t be developed any further. But I suspect that, elsewhere in my flat, I have more scraps of ideas for unwritten tales, just waiting to be rediscovered.

Leave a Reply

