A Life Of Fiction XLVI

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

On ‘mangling’ the English language (pt 2): I like using the odd rare word, as I have said in a previous post, in order to try to stop words falling out of usage. Other words which I have used include those listed below:

Gome: This means a man. It is a word used in Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. I like it, as I don’t think that we have enough synonyms for men. Why should we let words like this die out of the English vocabulary?

Segg: This also means a man. Again, I first encountered it in Sir Gawain and the Green Knight.

 

But, also, I like to invent words, or use words which other people have invented. The meaning of the word should be clear, though. A few of the words which I have used in this manner are listed below:

Grismal: This is what is called a portmanteau word, created by running two words together. For this word it was grim and dismal. The word chortle was created by Lewis Carroll in such a manner, from the words snort and chuckle.

Queendom: If you can have a kingdom why not have a queendom? It is simply a kingdom which is currently ruled by a queen. I think that I first used this word in The Book of Gana’Ot.

Tattooee: Obviously this means a person being tattooed.

   Unjumble: The opposite of to jumble up; to sort out. I use this word in The Dream-Tongue.

Unsensed: If you can sense something, you can also fail to sense it. I used this word in the novel doG.

 

Also, I occasionally like to use a noun as a verb. This is another thing which tends to annoy some people, I know, but I won’t apologise for this. If I can achieve the effect which I am after, that is all that I really care about. A few of these crimes against the English language are listed below:

Ennuis: Ennui means boredom. So, in the sentence Another song ennuis itself into existence, it is clear that it means the that the song is very boring.

Tumbleweeding: From the plant, this means to be blown along by the wind like tumbleweed. I use this in The Dream-Tongue.

 

Codicil: I am running out of ideas of things to say concerning my writing, and the creative process leading to the creation of my novels, short stories and poems. If anybody out there wishes to know anything specific, then either leave a note on this site, or e-mail me at gaslampfantasy@hotmail.com.

Leave a Reply

