A Life Of Fiction LIII

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

Coming, eventually, to an Amazon Kindle store near you: I have been continuing with writing my novels, but it is a slow process. I have briefly mentioned The Black Museum in the past, in passing. That is the novel which is probably nearest to completion, but it will still be a long time before I write The End.

When it is complete I will give the book a page of its own, and put an extract on the page – probably the first chapter as, while I don’t mind giving free extracts of my work, to encourage people to buy my humble offerings, I don’t want to give away too much of the plot of the novel. I hate it when some book reviewer reveals some important plot point.

Anyway, The Black Museum is supposed to be a Stephen King pastiche. Some people seem to think that pastiche is a dirty word. I disagree, though. I think that if it is done right then it should be a tribute to the work and style of an author, rather than a mockery of him (or her). I hope that the novel, when finished, is not viewed by anybody as me mocking one of my favourite authors of all time.

I suspect that I will finish The Man Who Became Ray Davies, and other stories long before I finish The Black Museum. The Man Who Became Ray Davies, and other stories is, as I am sure you must all have guessed, is a short story collection, and will be nowhere near as long, in word count, as my Stephen King pastiche. I write these posts in advance, and it is possible that, by now, that collection may actually be complete, and out there, in the great electronic ether. If so, then there will be a page featuring a short story taken from that collection.

 

Not coming to Kindle any time soon: As some of you may realise I am not just a writer, I am also a role-player, and have been for more than thirty years. I have, in the past, worked hard on creating The Gas-Lamp Fantasy Role-Playing Game, set in the Victorian world in which a lot of my novels are set. I have finished the main book, and several supplements. Those have all been released on Kindle by now.

However there are several supplements which I did not get around to completing, while I was working on the game. These included the Advanced Gas-Lamp Book; Beneath The Gas-Lamp World; Doorways of the Sidhe; Hoodoo and Voodoo; India Gazetteer; Mystic Places of the World; Out of the Red Planet; South America; and Travel in the Gaslamp World. As I have done next to nothing on them in the past year I think it is evident that they will probably not be completed.

I don’t want to see all the work which I did no those role-playing supplements going to waste, however; and there is also the fact that some of the role-playing supplements which I have published mention some of those unpublished works. Therefore, where appropriate, I will be putting extracts from some of those works on this website, so those players who have invested in my role-playing game can access the material. The extracts will be found in the RPG area, and some of the extracts should be already up there by the time that you read these words.

Of course, should I actually ever get around to finishing those RPG supplements, then I’m afraid that you will have to pay for them on Amazon, so enjoy the free ones while you can…

 

Leave a Reply

