A Life Of Fiction LXIV

 

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

Join Our Club: Some months ago I was invited, as part of the November Novel Writing Month, to go along into Birmingham on a Saturday night to spend all night writing, along with a lot of other writers who I had never met before.

Needless to say I did not attend. One of the reasons was that I suffer from mild agoraphobia, partially held at bay by medication and therapy. The idea of going out to some strange place tends to instinctively fill me with horror. But even if I did not have such mental foibles I would not have gone along. The idea, according to the information which I received, was to spend all night writing. I am one of those people who prefer to spend most of the night sleeping.

I do my writing in the morning and afternoon. I find that is when I am at my most creative. The writing which I have attempted later in the day has not always been of the best quality. A writer really must make the best use of his (or her) most creative moments.

Also, I find that I do not work well if I have a lot of distractions around me, such as other people. I need solitude to be able to concentrate on my work. I have always presumed that is the case with other writers, as well, and that writing is very much a solitary business.

Also, and this is important to me, I would have missed an episode of Doctor Who.

If people want to meet up, though, I have nothing against those people, although writing through the night certainly is not for me. I have nothing against writers’ groups, and I can understand writers and poets wanting to meet up to discuss the process of putting words down on the page. I am quite happy to discuss my work with other authors, and to listen to what they are working on.

I think that for me, though, the ideal meeting place would not be in the confines of some library, but in some welcoming tavern, where I might relax after a couple of pints of real ale.

I have thought about joining writers’ groups. There is one in my home town. That group, though, meets first thing in the morning. That is when I’m writing, and I’m not going to sacrifice a day’s writing just for some sense of community. The writing must always come first, even if it leaves me with fewer contacts with my peers.

There is another writing group which meets in a city, a half hour’s train ride away from my home town. I have toyed with joining that group, and I am sure that they are all very nice people. But I have not made the journey to that writer’s group as yet.

Please do not misunderstand me. I have nothing against such groups. But I feel that they are not for me. I would rather join forums on the internet, where I can communicate with writers who create the same sort of tales as I do. I can speak with writers based all over the world.

I am on several forums, and I have found the people on those forums to be pleasant and supportive. Those are the sort of clubs which I don’t mind joining. People can join them online, and not even have to leave the safety of their home. So thank you, Blimprider and all the other people on those forums, for making me feel at home.

 

In my next post I will be discussing horror in games and novels.

Leave a Reply

