A Life Of Fiction LXXV

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

More Ideas Than Time: I have more ideas for novels than the time in which to write them. This may not sound like a problem, especially if you are an author who has suffered from writer’s block in the past. But it leaves me with unfinished novels as, if I like an idea, I like to try to get a couple of thousand words down, at the very least.

I would like to say that I like to get words on paper, apart from the fact that all my writing is now straight to my computer. But I find that if I have the beginning of a novel down on my computer, then I can return to the story at a later date and carry on with it, even if a few years have passed. And some projects have taken years to come to fruition: the record, so far, between beginning something and finishing it is thirteen tears.

In an attempt to try to finish off all of the things which I have begun I tend to work on multiple projects at a time, doing a little bit here, and then a little bit there. Things advance very slowly with such a manner of working. But, sometimes, I can go for six months or more without finishing anything, and then finish off a couple of projects within days of each other. And I still get a mild frisson of pleasure each time that I bring something to completion.

I write these posts quite some time in advance of them appearing on the internet, so that I know that I will always have something to post; and that I have enough ideas for any fallow periods. So excuse me if I’m referring to something which I did a couple of months ago. Anyway, as I write these words the most recent project which I brought to completion was More Ghosts, a collection of ghost stories.

As soon as anything is complete, though, I begin work either on some new idea, or try to complete something which I have begun but not yet completed. I have three main projects on the go at the moment: The Black Museum, which is a Stephen King horror pastiche; Demoner, which is a short survival horror tale, set in Norway; and K Vs K, which a new project, some idea which came to me in the past few days.

I don’t want to say too much about K Vs K yet, as I am still working out a lot of the ideas within my brain. But I am looking forward to writing it, as it is different to what I have been working on recently. I think that I need a change from horror-themed stories. I need something which will refresh my creative sensibilities.

Then there is Get Tesla! That novel is inspired by a documentary which I saw on the life and inventions of Nikola Tesla. The novel will not be some biography, though, but a highly fictional construct in the genre known as Teslapunk. I want to write this novel, as Tesla is one of my heroes. But, first of all, I will need to do a ton of research, even if it is to be a highly stylised piece of fiction.

For every idea which I have the time to develop, though, there seems to be another tale which I don’t have the time to develop into a novel, and which is ‘temporarily’ put aside. I do intend to return to these would-be novels at some stage. But it is a question of finding the time. I fear that I will run out of life before I run out of ideas, as I am not a well man.

There is 1589, which is intended to be a superhero-themed novel set in the late sixteenth century. It is roughly sketched out, and will be the first in a two book series. But when can I find the time to turn it from idea into novel?

There is The Green Kingdom, a novel about Faerie, and set in the same gaslamp fantasy world as my Briggs and Prenderghast stories. I want to write that. But I am still working out some of the details in my head (such as how, exactly, I want the novel to end).

There are a number of novels featuring Parkinson and Duffield, set in the 1920s, in the same world. I have ideas for around five or so sequels to the three Parkinson and Duffield novels which I have completed. But, again, it is a matter of time. I will, hopefully, eventually get around to writing Assassins, Doctor Sunlight, Jack-In-The-Green, The Cult of the Black Bane and Wayland Smith. I’m just not sure when.

Ah, well, I have complained enough. Time to do some real writing. Back to the grind.

Leave a Reply

