A Life Of Fiction LXXX

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

A Writer’s Charter: in recent months I have suggested having a writer’s charter, on various different websites. This is what I posted:

 

A Writer’s Charter

 

Being a discussion on whether writers of books which appear on electronic platforms should sign up to a charter; and what that charter should be.

 

With this year being the eight hundredth anniversary of the Magna Carta I have been thinking, recently, whether those people who write purely for electronic platforms (the Kindle, websites and so on), should have their own charter, listing their rights and duties. I am not exactly suggesting that we unionise, or anything like that, as we writers are very individualistic creatures. But I am interested in whether writers would sign up to an ideal of a way in which to behave: such as not denigrating the work of other writers; telling other signatories to the charter if they discover a new way in which to promote their work; and so on.

The above are duties; but I think that, in a changing world, authors deserve rights, and I’m not sure that those who self-publish are necessarily being treated as fairly as they should be, by those who control the money (and I am not a charitable organisation).

So I am interested in having a discussion on this matter: first of all, do people think that we authors actually need such a charter or not; an, if we do, exactly what should be in it. I don’t have any ulterior motives in this, other than wanting to protect our community; and I am truly interested in what people’s opinions are. So I will sit back and consider everything which you say.

I will probably float this idea on all of the forums of which I am a member, as I want as many comments as possible.

 

I think that, as writers, we should come together – certainly if you write for some internet site or stick your stuff on Kindle. These kinds of writers, generally speaking, will not be supported by publishers. They will not have agents arranging publicity for them. They will, pretty much, be left alone, with only the vagaries of social media to support them. And I am not a fan of such things: I don’t go on Facebook, and I detest Twitter.

We are living in a changing world. Perhaps physical books will eventually disappear, to be replaced by the electronic kind (although I hope not). But the old ways of doing things are definitely changing. That old model no longer works, I’m afraid.

 

Feel free to post comments on this.

Leave a Reply

