A Life Of Fiction LXXXI

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

Themes For An Ending: Recently I completed yet another collection of poetry called Themes for An Ending. I like depressing titles.

I thought about giving a page to a preview of the book but, as I am only going to give away a single poem, I decided to put a brief preview of it in my regular column. If I produce enough other collections of poetry then I may do another page on my verse, bringing various poems together. But, until that happens, I will preview my humble collections of verse here.

The collection has around fifty to sixty poems in it – I have not actually counted to see precisely how many bits of poetry there are in there. My collections are usually around that size, anyway. If you think that such a collection is slander then take solace in the fact that I only charge 99 cents for my collections of verse.

Around half of the poems in the book are haikus. They are found towards the end of the collection.

 

I’m not sure why I keep writing poetry. It is not as though I am going to make my fortune from it (has anybody ever become wealthy through writing verse?). But we poets have a need to keep writing verse. I have tried to stop, in the past, and I write fewer words than I used to. But, occasionally, a couplet will occur to me, which I simply have to note down, to, perhaps, work into a longer poem at a later date.

I always carry a notebook and pen with me, should I get an idea for a poem. It is a good idea, that precious kernel, which I find to be the most important thing in developing an ode. a lot of the poems in Themes For An Ending began as a few scribbled words in an old notebook.

Anyway, taken from that book, is this poem.

 

Colours In The Dark

 

Mainlining your dreams

Straight into the subconscious;

Arrays of rainbows

Splitting into each colour;

Wonder at wonders;

Each imagined miracle

Overwhelming your soul

Into paroxysms of glee;

You laugh at nothing

Alone in your darkened room

Happy in the gloom.

Leave a Reply

