A Life Of Fiction LXXXII

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

What Has Gone Before: Here I will offer an overview as to my other posts in this column. At some stage I may turn this into a formal index. But, for the moment, I’ll have a look at some of the themes which I’ve had in the previous eighty one posts.

 

Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: A brief mention in Gas-lamp Films and Television, in A Life Of Fiction XVIII.

Airships: These, in relation to gas-lamp fantasy, were discussed in the post Putting the Fantasy into Gaslamp Fantasy, in A Life Of Fiction LXXIII.

All the books I’ve never read: A post on the books which I should have read, but haven’t, as yet. A Life Of Fiction XLI.

Autobiography, my: A section called The names have been changed to protect the guilty, on beginning the second volume of my autobiography. Still incomplete as I write these words. A Life Of Fiction XXIX.

Automatons: These, in relation to gas-lamp fantasy, were discussed in the post Putting the Fantasy into Gaslamp Fantasy, in A Life Of Fiction LXXIII.

Baker Street: I mentioned this comic, one of my favourites, in A Life Of Fiction LXX.

Beginnings: On how to try to captured the readers’ attention from the start of your literary masterpiece. A Life Of Fiction LXI. this post includes short extracts from The Dead; He Sees His World In Red; The Broken Glass Syndrome and Go Back To Start.

Black Museum, The: A brief mention of my novel was in the post Coming, eventually, to an Amazon Kindle store near you, A Life Of Fiction LIII.

Bored Student (poem): A Life Of Fiction XXXIV.

Build A Research Library: A section on some of the books a prospective author might want to invest in. A Life Of Fiction XXV.

Butterfly (poem): A Life Of Fiction LII.

By The World Forgot (poetry collection): Despite what it says in the text, this was not to be my last poetry collection. This post features the poems Svelte and Kristos. A Life Of Fiction XLVIII.

Censorship: I discussed this in the post Je suis Charlie: Censorship and self-censorship, a Life Of Fiction LXXVI.

Chapter names: I discussed these in the post Should you list the chapter names in the contents? A Life Of Fiction LXXVI. In that post I also mentioned what books I was reading, at that moment in time.

Character speech: This was covered in The philosophy of creating novels, part two. A Life Of Fiction LVI.

Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever, The: I mentioned this series of novels, by Stephen Donaldson, in the post Here are a few of my favourite things. A Life Of Fiction LXVIII.

Clark Ashton Smith: I mentioned this novelist in the post Here are a few of my favourite things. A Life Of Fiction LXVIII.

Classics of the past, inspired by: On how I have been influenced by Ancient Greek tales. A Life Of Fiction XXXVIII.

Cocktail, Prenderghast: How to make this absinthe cocktail, named after one of my characters. A Life Of Fiction II

Colours In The Dark (poem): This featured in the post Themes For An Ending, A Life Of Fiction LXXXI.

Complete Blogs, The: Yes, even this post will eventually appear in one of those volumes. None published yet, but I am now working on Volume Three. A Life Of Fiction XLIX.

Counting Words: On my obsession with producing at least three thousand words per day. A Life Of Fiction XIII.

Creating Villains: On how I came up with some of my bad guys, including Rex Mundi, Lord Scoresby, and Doctor Omen. A Life Of Fiction XXXII.

Creative Writing: My thoughts on the subject, in A Life Of Fiction XXXIII.

Defunct and Dying Words, The Society for the Protection of: A section on some of the words which I like, which are in danger of falling into extinction through lack of use. A Life Of Fiction XXXVII.

Demoner: On plans for this novella in Plans, plans, plans, A Life Of Fiction XLII.

Descriptive Element: A Life Of Fiction LVII.

Different Methods: A section on different ways in which I have worked. A Life Of Fiction X.

Doctor Omen: On how I came up with this villain, in Creating Villains, A Life Of Fiction XXXII.

Don’t Worry, I Am On Medication; This post is about how pedantic I am, and how I hate it when people put Conan Doyle novels under D. A Life Of Fiction LXVI.

Drowned memories: This is a post on having a load of my comics caught in a minor flood. A Life Of Fiction LXX.

Editing: On how I edit my work. A Life Of Fiction XLIV.

Edwyn Le Fay Stories, The: On the creation of these free tales. A Life Of Fiction XVI.

Empty House, The (poem): A Life Of Fiction LII.

End of Mr Y, The: A brief mention in Suggested reading, A Life Of Fiction XXXI.

Ending, in search of an: This is a post on how to end things. A Life Of Fiction LX.

Exit Sherlock Holmes: A brief mention in Suggested reading, A Life Of Fiction XXXI.

Extraordinary Adventures of Adèle Blanc-Sec, Tshe: A brief mention in Gas-lamp Films and Television, in A Life Of Fiction XVIII.

Future Of Writing, The:  This was a post on publishing in a world with Kindle and without book price agreements. A Life Of Fiction LXVIII.

Gas-lamp Fantasy, Putting the Fantasy into: This post discussed such tropes as automatons, airships, advanced technology (advanced for Victorian times, anyway), Magick, and ended with an overview of the subject. A Life Of Fiction LXXIV.

Gas-Lamp Fantasy Role-playing: On an RPG which I designed. Includes a segment on Travel beneath the surface, taken from one of my RPG supplements. A Life Of Fiction XXXVI. There is also a mention in the post Not coming to Kindle any time soon, A Life Of Fiction LII.

Gas-lamp Films and Television: A section on The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes; Sleepy Hollow; The League of Extra-ordinary Gentlemen; The Prestige; and The Extraordinary Adventures of Adèle Blanc-Sec. A Life Of Fiction LXVIII.

Glossary, Keep A: A Life Of fiction LXXIV.

Haunting of Hill House, The: A brief mention in Suggested reading, A Life Of Fiction XXXI.

Here are a few of my favourite things: This post covers some of my favourite books and authors, ones which I want to share with other readers: The Master and Margarita; The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever; the works of Clark Ashton Smith; The Silver Stallion; The Infernal Device; and A Wizard Of Earthsea. A Life Of Fiction LXVIII.

Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse, The: A brief mention in Suggested reading, A Life Of Fiction XXXI.

Horror: A section on my love for horror, and on the horror novels which I have written. A Life Of Fiction XIX.

Horror in Games and Novels: Another post on horror. A Life Of Fiction LXV.

Hungover (poem): A Life Of Fiction LII.

Icons: A section on iconic characters, such as Dr Fu Manchu. A Life Of Fiction XX.

Infernal Device, The: I mentioned this novel, by Michael Kurland, in the post Here are a few of my favourite things. A Life Of Fiction LXVIII.

Influence of Films and Television, the: On a few things which have inspired me. A Life Of Fiction XXX.

Inspiration: Where some of my ideas come from. A Life Of Fiction XI.

Join Our Club: A post on whether to join a writing club, or not.

Kristos (poem): A Life Of Fiction XLVIII.

League of Extra-ordinary Gentlemen, The: A brief mention in Gas-lamp Films and Television, in A Life Of Fiction XVIII.

Lone Wolf And Cub: I mentioned this comic, one of my favourites, in A Life Of Fiction LXX.

Lord Scoresby: On how I came up with this villain, in Creating Villains, A Life Of Fiction XXXII.

Magick: This, in relation to gas-lamp fantasy, was discussed in the post Putting the Fantasy into Gaslamp Fantasy, in A Life Of Fiction LXXIII.

Man Who Became Ray Davies, The: A brief mention in the post Coming, eventually, to an Amazon Kindle store near you, A Life Of Fiction LIII.

‘Mangling’ the English language, on: This was across two posts, in A Life Of Fiction XLV and XLVI.

Master and Margarita, The: I mentioned this novel (my favourite of all time), by Mikhail Bulgakov, in the post Here are a few of my favourite things. A Life Of Fiction LXVIII.

Moonshadow: I mentioned this comic, one of my favourites, in A Life Of Fiction LXX.

More Ideas Than Time: This discussed some of the ideas for books I had, including such unfinished works as Get Tesla!; 1589; The Green Kingdom and others. A Life Of Fiction LXXV.

More on poetry: Includes the poem Vespers. A Life Of Fiction XLIII.

More poetry to come: On the collection Nectar and Nepenthe. The post includes the poems Hungover, Butterfly, The Red-Headed League and The Empty House. A Life Of Fiction LII.

Music and writing novels: On how music has appeared in my work. A Life Of Fiction LI.

My Influences: On some of the influences behind my gas-lamp fantasy tales. A Life Of Fiction XVII.

My little empire: This post is one some of the writing which has appeared in other places on the internet. A Life Of Fiction L.

Names: Where I get the ideas for the names of my characters. A Life Of Fiction XII.

NaNoWriMo, Looking Back On: This is a post on the National novel writing Month, which comes around each November. A Life Of Fiction LXVII.

Nectar and Nepenthe (poetry collection): The post includes the poems Hungover and Butterfly, taken from that collection. A Life Of Fiction LII.

Numbers: I discussed numbers and maths in A Life of Fiction LXXIX.

On Comics: Here I listed some of my favourite comics: V For Vendetta; What’s Michael?; Palestine: Moonshadow; Baker Street and Lone Wolf and Cub. A Life Of Fiction LXX.

On Literature and Other Matters: On War and Peace, and other works. A Life Of Fiction XXIII.

On Poetry: On why I write poetry. Includes the poem Bored Student. A Life Of Fiction XXXIV. There is another post, also called On Poetry, which is the post A Life Of Fiction LXIX. That other post discusses poetry in general, and meter. It also features the poem Tracks. Poetry was a theme which I returned to in A Life Of Fiction LXXII. That post discussed rhyme; and gave some examples of meter.

Palestine: I mentioned this comic, one of my favourites, in A Life Of Fiction LXX.

Philosophy of creating novels, The: This was across two posts, A Life Of Fiction LIV and LV. The second part covered character speech.

Plans, plans, plans: Books which I intend to write. The book mentioned here is Demoner, and is now a completed novella. A Life Of Fiction XLII.

Playing With Other’s Toys: A section on how I have used characters created by other authors. A Life Of Fiction IX.

Prestige, The: A brief mention in Gas-lamp Films and Television, in A Life Of Fiction XVIII.

Promoting Your Work: A Life Of Fiction XXVI.

Quotations, on the use of: A Life Of Fiction XLVII.

Radio Free Albemuth: A brief mention in Gas-lamp Films and Television, in A Life Of Fiction XVIII.

Red-Headed League, The (poem): A Life Of Fiction LII.

Returning To Shimmersway: On going back to a fantasy novel which I am still writing. A Life Of Fiction XIV.

Rex Mundi: On how I came up with this villain, in Creating Villains, A Life Of Fiction XXXII.

Role-playing: A Life Of Fiction LIX. Also see the section on Gas-lamp fantasy role-playing.

Roman numerals: A Life Of Fiction XL.

Scent of New Mown Hay, A: A brief mention in Suggested reading, A Life Of Fiction XXXI.

Scraps: On fragments of old stories. A Life Of Fiction XXXV.

Sherlock Holmes: A brief mention of Exit Sherlock Holmes in Suggested reading, A Life Of Fiction XXXI. A brief mention of The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes in Gas-lamp Films and Television, in A Life Of Fiction XVIII. Also see A Life Of Fiction IX; XVII and XX for the briefest of mentions

Silver Stallion, The: I mentioned this novel, by James Branch Cabell, in the post Here are a few of my favourite things. A Life Of Fiction LXVIII.

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: A Life Of Fiction XXXIX.

Slang and Idioms: A Life Of Fiction XXIV.

Sleepy Hollow: A brief mention in Gas-lamp Films and Television, in A Life Of Fiction XVIII.

Spelling: A complaint against the small lexicon in the Word computer program. A Life Of Fiction XL.

Structuring Novels: This post covers different ways in which you can try to structure a book. A Life of Fiction LXII. The styles or approaches listed by me I have called the Hollywood; Ouroboros; long and winding road; and the collage approaches.

Suggested Reading: Some favourite books by other authors: The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse; The End of Mr Y; A Scent of New Mown Hay; The Werewolf of Paris; Exit Sherlock Holmes; The Haunting of Hill House; Radio Free Albemuth. A Life Of Fiction XXXI.

Svelte (poem): A Life Of Fiction XLVIII.

Themes For An Ending (poetry collection): I discussed this collection in A Life Of Fiction LXXXI. The post also featured the poem Colours In The Dark.

Tracks (poem): A Life Of Fiction LXIX.

Travel beneath the surface: This is an extract from one of my gas-lamp fantasy rpg supplements, and appears in A Life Of Fiction XXXVI.

Trigan Empire. The: This was a comic strip which used to be in Look and Learn Magazine. A Life Of Fiction XXVIII.

Tsundoku: The feeling you get when looking at books waiting to be read. A Life Of Fiction XXI.

Two countries, divided by a common language: A section on some of the differences between Standard English and American English. A Life Of Fiction XXVII.

V For Vendetta: I mentioned this comic, one of my favourites, in A Life Of Fiction LXX.

Vespers (poem): A Life Of Fiction XLIII.

Werewolf of Paris, The: A brief mention in Suggested reading, A Life Of Fiction XXXI.

What’s Michael?: I mentioned this comic, one of my favourites, in A Life Of Fiction LXX.

Why My Blogs Are Irregular: A Life Of Fiction XV.

Wizard Of Earthsea: I mentioned this novel, by Ursula Le Guin, in the post Here are a few of my favourite things. A Life Of Fiction LXVIII.

Who Do You Write For? A Life Of Fiction XXII.

Word Games: I had a post about word games, in fiction, in A Life Of Fiction LXXI.

Writer’s block: This includes an extract from my uncompleted novel 2084. A Life Of Fiction LVIII.

Writer’s Charter: I mentioned my idea for this in A Life Of Fiction LXXX.

Writing styles: This post features two short extracts, one from The Dig At Norbert Farm and Insanity. A Life Of Fiction LXIII.

 

Well, that’s that, just about every one of my main posts. It has been interesting for me to look back on everything which I have written. I think that I will turn this into an Index, so that I don’t end up repeating myself.

Leave a Reply

