A Life Of Fiction LXXXV

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

Life goes on – an update: In the absence of sheer genius bursting forth from my computer keyboard, I think that I may as well give a brief update of this writer’s life.

As I tap away on these words I am close to finishing the novel Eternal Darkness. This latest offering is the third book in the Shades trilogy, and will be the last vampire novel which I ever write. One novel, and two trilogies, are quite enough on bloodsuckers, thank you very much. Hopefully by the time that I upload this post to that great morass called the internet Eternal Darkness will be complete, and languishing on Kindle. And yes, before you ask, the novel is as joyous and as fun-filled as its title suggests. No extract, I’m afraid, as I don’t want to give away any details to the person who has read the first two books.

What else? Oh, I mentioned that charity bookshops in my home town had been putting Conan Doyle under D, rather than C, something which had bothered me no end. Well, after weeks of putting Conan Doyle books under the wrong letter, they have finally begun putting his books under the correct letter. I guess that they have finally thought to check on his surname. I consider that to be a minor victory. Now I can actually go straight to the Conan Doyle section without having to search through other letters.

Unfortunately that is just my home town. I went to an out of town shopping centre (one of those really loathsome places) before Christmas, looking for a book which I could not find at home (the complete Professor Challenger stories). I went into one book store and I looked under C for Conan Doyle and I couldn’t find anything at all. It was only when I looked under D that I found Sir Arthur. They didn’t have any Professor Challenger books, though, apart from The Lost World, which I already possess.

This was W H Smiths, which is supposed to be a proper bookstore, with staff who are actually trained, and work for money, unlike staff in a charity shop. I left the place in disgust. I could not even be bothered to move the books to the correct place.

At least in Waterstones they had Conan Doyle in the correct place – even if the only thing which they had by him was The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. Really, doesn’t anybody want to read the Challenger books any more?

What else? I am currently reading the last ever Thomas Covenant book, by Stephen Donaldson. I mentioned these books in A Life of Fiction LXVIII. I first began reading these books when I was at college. They were recommended by a friend of mine. The first two trilogies came out decades ago, and formed a large part of my reading in my youth. Then, in my latter days, Donaldson started producing The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant. I managed to find the first three volumes in bookshops, but I had to have a friend of mine order the final volume, The Last Dark, off Amazon. I love Donaldson’s work, even if his lexicon is larger than mine. A few words, like surquedry, I have had to look up – and I consider that I know a fair few words myself.

Anything else? Well, my writing drags itself forward. Sometimes the words flow; other times they do not. Sometimes they only really flow when I am in the pub on a Friday night, quaffing a pint of real ale. Once a week I try to escape my literary durance to a place where other people chatter and escape the troubles of the world.

I had better stop there. I’m beginning to sound like an advert for Cheers

Leave a Reply

