A Life of Fiction XC

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

Ninety and still going strong: This is my ninetieth post, for those who don’t know Roman numerals. With each post, I wonder if I can find something which I hope is interesting to say. My fear is that I will simply hit a verbal brick wall, and be faced with a blank screen, the words not coming to me. I guess that all such writer’s fear getting some sort of a block. Yet I always seem to come up with something to put down on this site.

How much longer will this site keep going? I guess that the answer is for as long as WordPress keeps going, or for as long as I keep going as a writer. Perhaps one day I will keel over from one of my physical frailties, and my blogs will come to a sudden stop. Or perhaps WordPress will suddenly cease, and I will go to put a post on the site, and discover that nothing is there.

Not that such an event will be such a disaster as a person might think. I make sure that I back up everything which I write, both on my computer and on those memory stick things. I back up every day. If you are reading this, and you are a poet or novelist or some other sort of writer, then you should really save everything which you do; and save it multiple times, in a host of different places. Don’t rely on just one of those memory sticks, get two or three, as they can fail. I’ve had two fail on me, in the past, and had two PCs die on me. But, thankfully, because I saved things to a variety of places, I did not lose anything worth having.

When I began writing my stories were all saved to floppy discs, because people had not yet come up with those memory stick thingies. When I got a new computer I had to transfer all of my writing over via floppy discs, sometimes just one or two novels at a time. But I got everything across before my old PC failed.

I tried one of those old floppy discs a few days ago, just to see what I had on them. But they have all failed. The data seems to have corrupted. Thankfully that no longer matters.

I have even saved stuff on a friend’s computer, and on his cloud, just in case I have multiple failures at the same time. I am rather neurotic where technology is concerned. I don’t trust it. I would much rather have a physical book rather than anything written electronically – which, I suppose, is rather odd for an author who publishes exclusively on Kindle, or on this website (at the moment).

Where was I? I seem to have become a bit distracted, burbling on about backing up all of your stories. Yes, I was talking about the fact that this was my ninetieth post, and that I was still going strong. I still have a couple of ideas for further posts on this blog. I hope that, by the time that I actually get around to writing those posts, that I will have come up with ideas for a couple more. And so on, and so on. As long as I can come up with what I believe to be one fresh idea a week these posts will continue.

Some posts will be about my writing, although there is only just so much that I can continue to witter on about. I have already done a lot of stuff about how I write, and the things which have inspired me. But maybe I can come up with some new angle.

Some will be about those books and films which mean a lot to me (maybe I should talk about my favourite pieces of music). But I don’t want this blog to be about reviews. Maybe I will have an occasional recommendation. But I don’t want to impose my tastes on other people.

Others will be about those horrible things called events, dear boy which continue to plague me, despite my hermetic existence. But hopefully those posts will be rare, not that much happens to me, and I don’t think many people would want a description of me lying on my bed, tapping away on a computer keyboard.

Others may just be things which I find interesting, and wish to share with those people who have discovered this blog. I’m one of those people who, if I discover something which I like, I have to share with people – and I fail to comprehend it if they are not as enthusiastic as I am, whether it is The Murdoch Mysteries or the works of Edgar Rice Burroughs.

 

Do I have an idea for my next post? Yes, I think that I will take a close look at some of the sites to which I have linked.

Leave a Reply

