A Life Of Fiction CVI

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

Other pub discussions: A few posts ago I discussed some of the inspirations which I have got while in a tavern, gulping down my favourite real ale. But, recently, I was in my favourite public house with a good friend of mine, and the discussion turned not to politics, or religion, or books, but how to make the world a better place. Is that not why we are here (if you believe in reasons or existing)? To leave the world a better place for being alive, than it would have been if you had never been born?

I try to leave the world a better place in a very small way, through my writing, by adding to the poetry and novels of the world. Yes, it is very small, certainly if you look at the sales. But if only one person finds enjoyment due to my humble talent then I will, at least, have achieved something.

Anyway, I was with a friend of mine, and he said that we should come up with ten ways in which to build a better world for mankind. So, after a fair bit of thought, we came up with these ideas. Here I must admit that I am a big fan of the writing of the great Thomas Paine, and I was more than a little influenced by his work.

Here are four of the ten things which we came up with. I apologise if this blog post is a little more political than my usual one. But I thought that some people out there might be interested.

I have decided to only list four of the ten because I want people to think about what the other six were; perhaps they will come up with things better than my friend and I; or, perhaps, put them in a better way.

Of course none of the things below will come about, even if they might be in the interest of mankind. There are too many vested interests in keeping the world the way that it is. Politicians, corporations, and organised religion will never give up their positions of power. We could create a paradise on Earth, if but for the people who rule us.

 

No one will be killed because of their point of view. I am tired of people being murdered because of religion; because they are of a different religion; or because they have no religion at all. I am tired of people being murdered because of their politics.

There are no Thought Crimes in my perfect world. Anybody should be allowed to think what they want. After all, it is only in our minds that we are truly free.

 

Mankind is a nation, there will be no countries. I am not in favour of jingoistic nationalism. Countries divide us into little tribes. They set Serb against Croat; Pakistani against Indian; Ukrainian against Russian. We are all the same species, and we should try to remember that, the next time some demagogic politician suggests that we march off to war.

 

No child will go to bed hungry. Perhaps this should be extended to no person going to bed hungry. At the moment we could just about feed the world, if we really wanted to do so. But we are approaching a Malthusian breaking point, with more people alive than the planet is able to support. Unless we want people to starve we will have to limit our numbers in the future.

 

Everybody has a right to a free education. Not just in this country, but all over the world. Every bit of education should be free, for the simple fact that it benefits us as a human species. The more highly educated a person, the less likely they are to commit crime; the less likely they are to have the bigotries which make them sexist, or a murderer, or a terrorist, or so on. Educate away a lot of the problems of the world.

There is a reason why terrorists like Boko Haram and the Taliban oppose education (especially women’s). They know that if people are educated they will see just how ridiculous those groups are.

 

Anyway, that is the end of my little political diatribe. Leave a comment and let me know what you think; or lay down some other ideas for making a perfect world.

Leave a Reply

