A Life Of Fiction CXX

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work before purchasing it on the Kindle store; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

Planning Doctor Crow: I keep planning more novels – ones which I may not have the time to write. But I cannot help it if ideas keep coming to me. And what is the point of being inspired by ideas if you do not, at least, attempt to develop them?

The latest idea is for a novel called Doctor Crow. Doesn’t Doctor Crow already sound like a bad guy, without actually knowing anything else about the person? He sounds like some villain out of a 1930s pulp novel, fitting in beside the likes of John Sunlight or Doctor Satan or Fu Manchu.

Anyway, the idea for this novel came after watching one of those delightfully terrible television programmes on cryptozoology, in which every monster which people claim to have seen is presented as though it is real. I don’t just mean the Sasquatch or Nessie, but a plethora of weird and wonderful creatures, of which I had never heard of before – and I have read books on cryptozoology.

I can’t recall precisely what the television programme was called, apart from the fact that it had the word ‘Monsters’ somewhere in its title. This festival of strangeness dealt only with American monsters.

The good ol’ US of A seems to be so infested with weird and dangerous creatures that you almost wonder how mankind became established in the North American continent in the first place. This programme would have you believe – like Fox Mulder, I Want To Believe – that America has, hidden within it, such strange creatures as evil flying monkeys, demons, goatsuckers, blue albino witches, and pterodactyls.

The bit of the TV programme which interested me was on ‘people’ called ‘melon heads’. I don’t want to go into too many details here, as I don’t want to give away any of the plot of my prospective novel. But I will say that people with large heads were, allegedly, seen in the environs of Kirtland in Ohio. One legend is that they are the result of children being experimented on in the 1930s, by a Dr Crow who ran an orphanage in Kirtland. This was a time when you did not really have government agencies checking such institutions to see how they were run.

According to the legend the children rose up against the evil Dr Crow, and burnt down the orphanage, with the villain still inside it. And then the children with large heads escaped into the countryside.

I could see a 1930s-set horror novel here, as long as one had not already been written. I looked up a few things the next time that I was on the internet, and found that there had not been a novel (unless Wikipedia was wrong) but that there had been a horror movie. Well, I would avoid watching that film, to make sure that my novel was original. I am not going to steal the work of anybody else.

It does not matter to me whether those events actually took place or not. I am not planning to write a historical work. It does not matter that the orphanage probably never existed, or that Dr Crow is probably an entirely fictional person. In fact it may prove to be beneficial if that is the case. I don’t want somebody reading my fictional novel and the emailing me to complain that I got such-and-such a fact wrong.

As I have mentioned in another post I have already begun researching this novel. So I won’t bore you by discussing that for a second time. Only to say that I have a lot more research to do if I am to progress beyond a few thousand word skeleton of my horror tale.

Of course these ‘melon heads’ have not only be seen near Kirtland in Ohio. They have also been seen in the area around the Felt Mansion in Michigan. Which, of course, will be the inspiration for another horror novel, The Return of Doctor Crow…

Leave a Reply

