A Life Of Fiction CXXXIII

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

 

About the stuff down the left-hand side: I have a lot of pages down the left hand side. I think that it’s time that I give a very quick guide to them. Perhaps people coming to my site are daunted by the number of them, and don’t bother checking them out. So here follows a few short notes on each of them. Bear with me.

   A Tavern Tale: This was a play which I wrote ages ago, and which I released on Kindle.

About ‘The Black Museum’: This is about a horror novel which I wrote. It features a short extract from the book.

About Duffield and Parkinson: This is about my two main gas-lamp fantasy characters, and about the genesis of their stories. I have written more stories featuring those two than anybody else.

About Fairy Tales: This is about a book which is a work in progress (and has been for years). It includes the completed short story Beauty With A Gun.

About Hoodoo Hobo: This is about a short horror novella which I wrote. As in a lot of pages here, the page includes a sample extract from the work.

   About Jack Blain: This is about four gas-lamp fantasy novels and the anti-hero who stars in them.

About my poetry: Self-explanatory. There are extracts from a lot of poetry collections here. The poems featured are Haiku # 100, Haiku # 116, Sheen, Coffee, Blue Tit, Smog, London Rain, St Kilda, Only Dust, The Boxer, Atomic Exhibition, Ruin Blue, Teddy, Romance Couplet, Cost, Crow-Craw, Waiting For The Springtime, Poppy Day, Empire Of Unculture, and Patchwork.

   About my poetry II: This includes the poems Mirror Deep, The Walled Garden, A C G T, Another Day (Blue Sky), My Blue Sky, Green Ink, Homesick Welsh Blues, and Book Buying.

About my poetry: Bag Of Words: This is a page on one of my poetry collections. It includes the poems Rainy Square and Ultimus Gentis Suae.

About Pub Tales: This is about a collection of short stories. It includes the short story tale Of The Jazz Man.

About Retrograde Juvenilia: This is about two collections of short stories, published under the name Retrograde Juvenilia. It includes the sample story The Hanging Tree.

About The Last Stories Ever Told: this is about a collection of short stories, which is still a work in progress. It includes a free short story: Straight Razor Blues.

Adventures of the Time Brigade: This is about one of my novels. It includes the opening chapter.

   Blood Will Out: This is about a vampire novel. This was the first vampire novel which I wrote. It includes an extract from the novel.

BOOK REVIEWS: This is a section of reviews of old books. The books are all Victorian, steampunk or gas-lamp fantasy. Some of them were published a very long time ago. this page will be updated from time to time, as I read more books which fit within this section.

Briggs and Prenderghast: This is a section on my two gas-lamp fantasy heroes, the stars of some fourteen novels. It includes the opening from their first novel He Sees His World In Red.

Crowmantle: This is on a rather odd novel I wrote. The page includes the opening of the book.

   doG: This is about another odd book. It includes the opening of the tale.

Empire Of Steam: Here is a novel in chapter form. This was written for NaNoWriMo in 2014. After completing it, I decided to put it on my website for free, as – being rushed – I did not think that it was of sufficient quality to release as a book on Kindle.

Extracts From A Life Of Fiction:  I think that this is on how to make a Prenderghast cocktail. But I am writing this at home, away from the internet, and I could be wrong on this one… Sorry.

Extracts From Extracts From A Life Of Fiction: This is about my biography, and includes an extract from it.

   Free Sherlock Story: The Adventure Of The Green Coat: This is a story featuring Sherlock Holmes. It is a drastic rewriting of a gas-lamp fantasy short story which originally featured John Briggs.

Free Story: Here are a number of short stories which I put on the site for free: the stories are Bad Effects, Hesperides Cider, Killers On The Roam, The Bog, The Fast Food Diet, The Hook, The Meticulous Examination Of Preordained Destinies, The Mourning Of The Magician, The River That Flowed Uphill, The Wall, and Warriors of the Wasteland. Nearly all of these short stories are from collections. The only one which is gas-lamp fantasy is the story The River Which Flowed Uphill, which features Briggs and Prenderghast

Ghosts: This is about a collection of ghost stories. It includes the short story Horses.

   Ghoul: This is another genre novel. The page includes a short extract from the book.

Go Back To Start: This is a few words on my longest novel. The page includes the beginning of the novel.

Guest House: A horror novel; and an extract from its beginning.

   Knight Eternal: This is about a medieval horror novel I wrote. It features an extract from the work.

   Le Fay: These are all chapters in a novel of sorts. They originally started out just as a couple of short stories – chapters 00 and 01 – but I like the hapless wizard

   Legion: a couple of sentences on my science fiction / fantasy novel, and a short extract from the book.

   Lucian: This is a page on this short novella. It includes a brief extract from the finished work.

Magic Does Not Exist, Magic Is Real: This page is a few sentences on one of my earliest novels. There is a brief extract from the book.

   Makepeace: This is on my attempt at a cowboy novel. There is an extract from the finished book.

   Memories: This is a page on a genre novel I wrote. This is, I think, one of my own favourite pieces of work.  There is an extract from the beginning of the novel.

   On A Brief History Of Tim: This is a section on my attempt to write a novel about growing up.

   On Canto: This is about a novella set in a pub.

   On Demoner: Here are a few words on a short horror novella.

   On Elegy Of A Forgotten Day: This is a page on one of my attempts at a literary novel. there is an extract from the finished work.

On Fractions Of Verse: This is about some of my unpublished poetry. It features the poems Twelve, The Flowers Of Spite, Games, and Losse.

On Machinations and Mortifications: A few words on another short story collection. But this page includes the short story The Machinations of Edgar Roscommon.

On More Ghosts: This is a page on another collection of ghost stories, some of them very brief.

   On One Day In A Dream Job, and other stories: Another short story review. The free story is Interview.

On Tales For A Rainy Day: Again, another overview of a short story collection. The page includes the short story I Think That This Letter Was Sent To Me In Error…

On The Man Who Became Ray Davies and other stories: Another few words about a short story collection. The page includes the short story The Man Who Murdered Himself.

On the Red novels: This is a page on my attempt to write novels which are the literary equivalent of manga (or Japanese computer games). There is an extract from the first of the two novels.

On Unbegun Tales V: This is a section on the fifth book of this collection of short stories. It includes the short story The Pristine.

One Hundred By Hundred: A short page on some very short stories. This features the story Aloysius, which is one hundred words long.

Planned works: A short section on some of the things which I have planned.

Rain: A few notes on my brief crime novella of the same name, and an extract from the beginning of the work.

Ripper: A Sherlock Holmes novel: On my first completed Sherlock Holmes novel. The page includes an extract from the finished work.

   Roots: Nothing to do with Alex Haley. This is about my ‘cosy catastrophe’ novel. There is an extract from the novel.

   RPG: Anything preceded by RPG is about role-playing games. Most of these concern my Gas-Lamp Fantasy Role-Playing Game, being articles or extracts from my books (some published, some not). These include RPG Becoming An Author, RPG Caves of Llanfern Gorge, RPG: Book Of Magick (extract), RPG: A Soldier’s Life (extract), RPG: Advanced Gaslamp Book, RPG: Americana (extract), RPG: Britain In The Gas-Lamp World (extract), RPG: Collecting (article), RPG: Creating A Trophy Room (article), RPG: Egypt – Land Of The Pharaohs (extract), RPG: Exotic Pets, RPG: Japan Gazetteer (extract), RPG: Mystical Artefacts (extract), RPG: Patenting Inventions, RPG: The Austro-Hungarian Empire gazetteer (extract), RPG: The Blood Is The Life (extract), RPG: The Complete Equipment Book (extract), RPG: The Gas-Lamp World, RPG: The Unknown Ocean Depths (extract), and RPG: Thibet gazetteer (extract).

The RPG vignettes – RPG Vignettes: 01: Gone Bad, RPG Vignettes: 02: Looking Out, RPG Vignettes: 03: Two Years Ago, RPG Vignettes: 04: 1608, RPG Vignettes: 05: Getting Ready – are not gas-lamp fantasy, but are base on background which I did for a character whom I created for the Shadowrun RPG.

At some stage I might put other stuff up here, for other role-playing games, as I have done a lot of stuff for Champions and Dungeons and Dragons. But I am nervous about putting out such stuff, in case the companies who own those games decide to sue against these nome-brew items, even though they would be given away for free.

   Sevastopol: This is a page on a children’s novel which I did for a competition. There is an extract from the finished book.

   Shadows and Ghosts: This is on another genre novel. There is an extract from the beginning of the book.

   Shiloh: This is on the second longest novel which I have completed. There is a brief extract from the start of the book.

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: Part One: This is a few verses from my incomplete attempt at a translation of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. it will be updated when I m happy with the other verses on which I have been working.

   So Fades The Day: Another attempt at a literary novel. As usual there is an extract from the completed work.

Strange Tales: This is about an old collection of short stories, all of which are odd, having some ‘genre’ element. This page includes the short story Time In A Bottle.

   Swordsong Trilogy: This page is on a fantasy-style trilogy. The page includes an extract from the first novel, Swordsong Ministry.

   Ten Days: This is on a novel cum interconnected series of ten stories. There is a brief extract from the first of the stories.

The Block: A couple of sentences on this novel, and then a short extract from the book.

The Book of Gana’Ot: Again, a very brief description of the horror-style novel, and then an extract from the beginning of the book.

   The Dead: The briefest description possible of this book, and an extract from the opening chapter.

   The Death of a Nobody: A few notes on this murder mystery, and a short extract.

   The Death of Anton Pryce: another murder mystery. an extract featuring the funeral of the eponymous dead man.

The Dreamers Trilogy: A few notes on a fantasy trilogy. I can no longer remember writing these novels. Maybe I wrote them in a dream.  Anyway, there is a short extract from All You Have To Do Is Dream, the first novel in the trilogy.

The Dreamtongue:  Another murder, another extract from near the beginning of the novel.

The Gaslamp Fantasy RPG: This is on the RPG game which I created, around the world of my Briggs and Prenderghast adventures.

   The Gertie Murder Mysteries: This is about a series of four mystery novels. There is a brief note explaining them; and then the first chapter of the first novel, Murder By The Dozen.

The Impossibilities: This is about the second novel I wrote. A few more brief notes on the book, and then an extract from – yes, you’ve guessed it – chapter one.

   The Inspector Drake Stories: This is on some of the first things which I wrote. There is an extract here from the first novel I ever completed, The Absinthe Club.

   The Next Prophet: This is a page on a novel I wrote with semi-religious themes (as may be guessed from the title). There is a very brief extract from chapter one.

   The Problem With Harry, and other stories: This is about a short story collection. It includes the short story The Death Industry.

   The Seven Against Thebes: This is about the ancient Greek legend re-imagined as an apocalyptic science fiction tale. There is a brief extract from the finished work.

The Shades Trilogy: This is about the second vampire trilogy which I wrote. Only a couple of brief notes, and a very short extract. I should update this page, really, as the third book is now complete.

The War For Mars: This is on one of the few pure steampunk tales which I have written. There is an extract which, I think, is taken from near the beginning of the novel.

Unbegun Tales: This is on a collection of short stories. It includes the short story Are You Dreamworthy?

Varnae: This is on a vampire trilogy. It is an updating of Varney the Vampire – long out of copyright – bringing Varney and his story into the modern era. There are a few notes, and an extract from Varnae Book One: The Vampyre.

Z Stands For Zombie: This is a very short novella. There are a few notes, and an extract from the book.

 

Well, that is it for another post. I hope that what I have written is of interest to somebody out there.

Leave a Reply

