A Life Of Fiction CXLII

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Titles: I think that novels (and other books) should have eye-catching titles. It is my belief that some people are more likely to examine, and maybe purchase, a book if it has an interesting title. The fact is that there are people who judge books by their covers.

Well, unfortunately, I am no good at art, and the Kindle cover creator is not great. They need to keep expanding it with more pictures and new design possibilities. So I can’t have the best picture in the world adorning the cover of my latest magnum opus.

One area in which an author has full control, however, is in the title of his work. The title, ideally, should be evocative enough to intrigue the potential reader, without giving away too much of the story. You don’t see writers like Agatha Christie reveal the name of the murderer in the titles of her books. No, you have to wait for the denouement in the final pages, when Hercule Poirot or Miss Marple gathers everybody in the drawing room, to reveal who the murderer really was.

Here follows a list of some of my favourite titles. The list is entirely subjective; and it is only what titles I like: it is not a commentary on the value of the individual works. In fact there are a couple which I have not yet got around to reading.

Some of these works are by me; others are by famous, published authors. Can you tell which is which?

The Sailor On The Seas Of Fate

On Her Majesty’s Mystic Service

The Call Of The Wild

Elegy Of A Forgotten Day

The Sailor Who Fell From Grace With The Sea

The Sifter Of The Sands Of Time

The Unbearable Lightness Of Being

New Songs For Old Ears

Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?

Nectar And Nepenthe

A Confederacy Of Dunces

From The Abyss, Staring Up

We Can Remember it For You Wholesale

The Thousand Autumns Of Jakob De Zoet

Nostradamus Ate My Hamster

Really Depressing Title (Insert Later)

Leave a Reply

