A Life Of Fiction CXLIII

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Lines Written At The Beginning Of The Year: I am writing these words on the morning of New Year’s Day 2016, even though it will be months later before anybody gets to read them. They are written early in the morning. But they are not the first lines which I have written today: I have already composed two haikus, which will go in the collection Modern Haikus, when it is finally completed. I have no idea when that will be, though, so don’t expect to see it any time soon. But it is nice to start the day with a poem.

It is a new year, and a new dawn, even though the morning is grey and cold, and looks as though it might rain a little later. I haven’t bothered looking at the weather. You do not need a weatherman to tell when the day threatens to plague you with rain, the clouds pregnant with showers to be. But I don’t mind the rain, as long as I am inside. I can listen to it against my window.

A couple of my novels have begun with rain. I have heard it said not to have the weather in your novels. But that is clearly rubbish. A description of the weather is yet one more descriptive element. It adds to the feeling of the novel. Events do not take place in a vacuum. It rains; the sun shines; it snows. Although, I must add, not all at the same time.

Anyway, this post is not about the weather in my work. Although perhaps it can be a theme for my next post, as I cannot recall having discussed it before. Yes, I think that CXLIV will be all about the weather. No, as these lines are being written at the beginning of a New Year, they are supposed to all be about newy newness.

Everything must be shiny and new. Write the combinations of words which have never been written before. There is an almost infinite combination of words in the English language. Yes, that is what I must do. Write something new.

Well, I’ll try.

Leave a Reply

