A Life Of Fiction CXLIX

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

I hate Star Wars: Yes, I am one of those people who have never got the whole Star Wars thing. I have watched each of the movies, once, as an adult. But they never gripped me. There were a few action sequences which were okay. But I never bought into the mythology. It never moved me. I still don’t have any of the films on DVD, and I don’t intend to change that fact any time soon.

I am not against science fiction. I like watching Star Trek movies, as long as they are the good ones (The Wrath of Khan and The Journey Home, and the one which rebooted the franchise a couple of years ago). I have watched all manner of other science fiction movies and enjoyed them: Metropolis; 2001: A Space Odyssey; Blade Runner and so on. But I have never got Star Wars.

The films seem very derivative to me. Where other people see Jedi running across the screen I see samurai – and I prefer the films of Akira Kurosawa to George Lucas any day. He nicked a lot of the plot of Hidden Fortress for Star Wars. Star Wars, really, has more in common with fairy tales than with some of the other science fiction films of its era. You have an evil knight in black armour who must be defeated. You have a princess who needs rescuing. You have something called the Force which, if we are being honest about it, is just fantasy magic. It’s okay. But the film franchise does not deserve the sort of adulation poured on it. Some films – I’m thinking of the banal prequels – seem more like an excuse to sell toys rather than anything else.

No, I don’t like Star Wars.

I have role-played Star Wars, although I have never run the game, and have had no desire to do so. My character is an instantly forgettable mercenary by the name of Jonn Desuka. I won’t go into the details of the characters background because, without looking them up, I cannot recall them. Let’s just say that he has encountered a lot of characters who appear to have been named by random draws out of a Scrabble bag. But that is not a problem just for Star wars. A lot of science fiction, and a lot of fantasy, has a problem with ridiculously named characters. Star Wars, though, seems to be guiltier than most.

I tried, at least, to create a name which a person might have had, rather than something which was impossible to pronounce. Jonn was, well, a variant of John. Desuka was supposed to sound vaguely oriental, even though my character was Caucasian in appearance. But it was better than calling him T’tadenov, or something equally stupid 9and I got the consonants of that by hitting the keyboard with my eyes closed.

I said, earlier, that I wasn’t going to go into the details of my Star Wars character. Perhaps I am being a little unfair towards the game. Just because I don’t get it doesn’t mean that Star Wards is not enjoyed by a great number of people around the world. How many of them are role-players I don’t know. But, as I have begun giving out bits about my character…

Anyway, here are the details of a character who I am currently playing in a Star Wars RPG. This section may eventually appear in something called Scenarios Birthed My Fiction – but I have no idea when that will appear, as some of the stuff inside is still under copyright. For the same copyright reasons all references to places in Star Wars – such as where the character was born – have been redacted.

Name: Jonn Desuka (stress on middle syllable of last name; jon de-SOO-kah)

Place of birth: Redacted.

Current home: Redacted.

Parents: Unknown: Jonn Desuka was raised as an orphan by Midori Desuka, a trader. Jonn has been on his own for the past five years, ever since Midori was murdered.

Age: 23.

Race: Human.

Hair colour: Dark brown.

Eye colour: Dark brown.

Facial hair: None. Clean shaven.

Skin colour: Caucasian.

Height: 5’ 10”

Weight: 16 stone, 2 lbs.

Build: Jonn is very broad of build, rather than fat. He is not the fleetest of foot, though.

Favourite colour: Dark blue.

Favourite music: Loud, fast, depressing music, equivalent of speed metal.

Favourite food: Hot, spicy food.

Favourite books: Technical manuals, especially on weapon schematics.

Sexuality: Heterosexual.

Hobbies: Tinkering with weapons.

Occupation: Mercenary and bounty hunter, although Jonn is choosy about the targets who he goes after when bounty hunting. He will not go after a person who he believes to be innocent. He has his own moral code concerning such matters, and is more than just a gun for hire.

Character: Stubborn, but loyal towards the few friends who he has.

Prized possession: A blaster rifle which Jonn has christened Fulgurous. He has etched the name of his gun into the stock.

Interests: Weaponry, especially the technical aspects concerning them. Jonn is a subscriber to Troopers of Fortune, as well as Blasters & Power Cells. He likes to think that he is already an expert on weaponry.

Enemies: Those people who he has caught while bounty hunting, and possibly their relatives.

That is it for another post. Next time I promise that I won’t be talking about Star Wars. Anything but Star Wars.

Leave a Reply

