A Life Of Fiction CL

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

150 and counting: This is my 150th post on WordPress, and I have not quite run out of things to say. Almost, but not quite. I do sometimes go for weeks without an idea coming to me for something which I want to chat about, then I might suddenly have three ideas in a single week. I try to post weekly, but, on average, I write one and a bit posts a week, so I am ahead of myself, and I don’t know exactly when this post will appear on the website. But at least if I do entirely run out of things to say I will have a backlog of posts so that I can keep this running for a few more months before coming to an end.

I have enjoyed my time posting things on WordPress. It is quite easy to get things up on the site, even for an idiot like me. I am one of the least technologically savvy people in the world. I have problems turning on a DVD player. So if I can post on WordPress then anybody can do so. It is one of the reasons why I stay with WordPress, and don’t try to get some other site.

I have a friend who has urged me to get one of those commercial sites, rather than WordPress, saying that I would automatically get a lot more visitors to the site, and that Google marks me down. But when I go searching for gas-lamp fantasy stuff on the search engines which I use Bing and DuckDuckGo – I find that my site is rated very highly, despite the fact that I am on WordPress. In fact on one search I came both first and second. so I think that the fault does not lie with WordPress, but with Google. I don’t know, I long ago stopped using Google, when other search engines proved to be better at getting the results which I wanted.

My friend says that it would be just as easy to be on some other site, and that he could even flip it for me, so that I would not have to do anything. I have no idea what that means. But I fear that if I went somewhere other than WordPress that I could not so easily load my words onto the site. The only tool I need is Control + V. I have built this entire WordPress site just using that command, near enough. Anything else is beyond me. No, I will stay with WordPress, come what may. Me and my fan.

I have recommended WordPress to a friend of mine who is an author, and who has started putting his work on the Amazon Kindle platform. Once he has his site up and running I will link to it. Because that is what you do, isn’t it? You support your friends in all of their endeavours.

I really should explore more WordPress sites. But, then again, there are so many things which I should do with my life, and I am only on the internet once a week. But I’m sure that there must be lots of other great WordPress sites out there.

I wonder, though, if I will ever reach three hundred posts on WordPress – twice as many as my current number. If I had to guess I would say not. It seems an awfully long way away. But I had not really expected to do a hundred and fifty posts when I began on this site. You just keep going, and do as much as you can. Like in life. Or a long prison sentence. Or like writing a long novel; at the beginning it can look really daunting, even if you have eighty odd already under your belt. But if you just make sure that you do a bit each day then you will surely reach The End. It is just a matter of time.

Talking of novels, it’s time that I did some more on Steam Park II…

Leave a Reply

