A Life Of Fiction CLIII

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Remembering Kryptophilia: Long ago, before I began publishing things on the internet, I used to self-publish a magazine which I called kryptophilia. I think that I have mentioned it in passing, in a few of my posts and pages, without actually doing a post about it. Well, this is that post.

It really was very much an amateur attempt, the smallest of small press publications. It was printed on A4 paper and then stapled together. I don’t think that a single issue ever had more than twenty copies printed off. It was done irregularly, a new issue printed off every month or two. The covers were just text, saying the name and number of the issue. Yes, it was that amateurish. But I started doing it before I even had programs like Word on my computer. which probably explains all of the typos in some of the issues. I am very good at spelling words. But I am not very good at hitting the correct keys on the keyboard. I tend to hit I for O and vice versa. Which is why, in one story, instead of monks it ended up reading minks.

I gave copies to my friends. I sold an odd issue or two through a friend of mine, Ben smith, who had a second hand bookshop at the time. That was my rather basic distribution network. But some people came back for other copies, so I suppose that it can’t have been all bad.

Kryptophilia did not just feature my work. I did provide the bulk of the verse and prose. But several other people also contributed poems or short stories. I am eternally grateful to those people for their assistance. So a big thank you to all of the people who contributed stuff: to Ben Smith, Alan Smith, Daniel Hartland, Charlotte Calder-Lewis, Christopher Bowen, Dave Plimmer, Trevor Allen, Ed Hinsley, Andrew Fentham, Brian Grove, A J Dellicott, Becky Pickin, Gavin Thomas and Stan Mir.

Here, for a change, are some things which I did not write. These poems were all published in various issues of kryptophilia. Hopefully, now, on this website, they will get a slightly wider audience. The poems should all be considered to be © by their specific authors.

It (by Christopher Bowen)

It was a brick

Fired red clay

and square and hard

solid

DNA to a building’s birth

It arrived at exactly

Two minutes past ten

That fateful morning

Shattered shards on checked linoleum

It was the artist of glass.

Banal yet strangely familiar

that brick.

But it didn’t belong there,

in my kitchen.

It was a Catholic Brick

In my Protestant town.

Haiku (by Becky Pickin)

salesmen steal all souls,

devil knocks at the front door,

sells double-glazing.

Untitled (by Gavin Thomas)

Some girls spend hundreds on dresses

A few spend that much on shoes, too.

I sometimes feel they’ve missed the point

If only they knew what I knew.

Though you have fun going shopping

You can walk for mile after mile

Just don’t forget the most lovely thing you’ll

Ever wear is your smile.

Leave a Reply

