A Life Of Fiction CLV

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Searching For The Old Punk Rebels: Once upon a time Dexy’s Midnight Runners released an album by the name of Searching For The Young Soul Rebels. In fact I think that it might have been their first album, containing such gems as Dance Stance.

Anyway, this post is called Searching For The Old Punk Rebels. That is because one of the genres of music which still gets me going is that little thing called punk rock. I love to walk along, earphones in my ears, listening to the Sex Pistols or the Clash or the Damned. Even forty years after the release of New Rose I still love to listen to it.

I must admit, at this moment, to not actually having been a punk myself. I was just a couple of years too young, at the time, to have dayglo hair or bondage trousers. I don’t think that a Mohican or Mohawk would have suited me, anyway.

I think that there must be a lot of writers out there who grew up listening to the Buzzcocks or Siouxsie and the Banshees or Public Image Ltd. So, if you are out there, and that music still says something to you, why not let me know? I write horror, attempted literary fiction and that minute genre called gaslamp fantasy. But, all of the rime, I am informed by the sensibilities of punk.

It was the idea that anybody could go out and create. Yes, I know that, originally, the punk aesthetic applied only to music. But, as a writer, I think that those sorts of sensibilities should also apply to writing fiction. If you have an idea for a story then go out and write it. Don’t care what other people do. Just do it.

Now, with the internet and Kindle and so on you don’t have to leave your story mouldering in the sock drawer. You can go out and publish it yourself, either by putting it on Kindle and hoping that somebody will shell out for it, or putting it out free on a site like this (there are other options). Putting something on Kindle is not very hard. I am one of the least technically savvy people in the known multiverse.

At some stage I will write a novel set in the early days of punk. I have had this idea kicking around my head for a few years. It is still forming. Although I have the first few chapters worked out I don’t yet know the ending – and I would like to, at least, have a rough idea of what the ending will be before I sit down and write it.

The novel will be a horror novel. Its working title is 1977, although that will probably change when I sit down to write it. The basic plot is that a young punkette goes missing, and an occultist has to find herm drawing him into a world of horror and magic which lies behind the façade of London in the Seventies. I have the idea that I would like each chapter to be the title of a punk or new wave song from that period.

I have only seen a couple of punk bands in my life, due to the fact that I have problems in journeying from the safety of my home. I did manage to get to see the Damned, once, as they were kind enough to come to my home town. They were wonderful. It was a great gig. But there are a lot of other bands which I wish that I had seen, back in the day: Siouxsie and the Banshees, the Clash, the Stranglers (with Hugh Cornwell on vocals), Magazine, and many more. I suppose that I can always see them on Youtube. But it’s not the same, is it?

Most of the other writers who I know – there are a few in the town where I live – aren’t really into punk. But maybe I will find some other kindred soul who will agree that Ghosts Of Princes In Towers, by the Rich Kids, is a really underrated piece of music.

Leave a Reply

