A Life Of Fiction CLXVI

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Tweets: So now I’m on Twitter. I had never intended to go on Twitter. I do not like social media, as I consider some of it to be very ant-social. But I had to try and find some way of getting people interested in my WordPress site and, hopefully, my work on Kindle. The fact is that my sales have ceased. As I write these words I have not sold a single thing in six weeks, anywhere in the world.

It is not about the money, although I would love to earn enough money to be independent. No, I want people to read my work. Isn’t that a motivating factor of all writers? My fear is that I will write wonderful (and, maybe, just okay) stories, and that, when I die, they will linger in the hard drive of my computer (until that dies as well), not published, not even given away for free. Stories are meant to be read. They need to be out there. Even if only one other person finds pleasure from them.

Anyway, I’m now on Twitter. My handle, of course, is gaslampfantasy. At the moment I can only send out tweets on a friend’s computer, due to issues with my mobile phone. So I don’t tweet very often at the moment. I hope that that will change in the future, though.

I will be sending out the occasional haiku on Twitter. It is about the only poetic form which is short enough for Twitter. I hope that when I have enough of these haiku tweets to put them all together in a poetry collection.

I don’t have any followers yet. But I’m hopeful.

I’m following three people so far: Dan Hartland (I have a link to his website in my links); the poet Steve Pottinger; and the green Part politician Caroline Lucas.

I won’t ever be on Facebook, by the way.

Leave a Reply

