A Life of Fiction CLXXIV

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

After NaNoWriMo: Well, I finished a novel during November, even though it was only just over fifty thousand words long. In fact I managed to complete two novels during that period: Strange Days and Blank New World. So I wrote over one hundred thousand words during November. I finished the second novel with a couple of days left to go.
Spending all month on one (or two) projects was interesting, as I usually write bits on several projects during a month, as the mood takes me, and as thoughts arise as how to take projects forward. I work at my own pace on each novel or poetry collection or whatever. While writing constantly on a single project was interesting, I don’t think that either of the novels which I did during November was that great. I think that they were a little hurried. And, if you write at that pace, you can’t do anything else but hurry, forcing yourself forwards.
I did not bother to put either novel into the NaNoWriMo website, after discovering that a picture was required for the cover. I am a writer, not an artist. The only art program which I have on my computer is Microsoft Paint. Anything which I did not that would be boringly simple. I did not have any idea of what sort of cover I would like for Blank New World. But that certainly was not the case for Strange Days. Any cover for that would have shown the cover of a book – the book mentioned in the novel. The cover would be an image of a hardback copy of that book lying on a wooden table. On the cover the sun would be dawning blue, lighting up an otherwise dark sky. It is an image which is important to a storyline. But I don’t have the skills to produce a book cover like that.
I took part in NaNoWriMo, this time, only for myself, setting myself a target of two novels and hitting the target. I proved to myself that I could do it if I had wanted to. Three years, now, I have taken part in NaNoWriMo. But I don’t think that I will bother to take part next year. I already have that JPG award showing that I have doe it. I have four novels as a result: the two mentioned above, as well as Steam Park and Empire of Steam. I don’t think that I have anything else to prove. Not to myself, anyway, and I write, ultimately, to please myself. If anybody else likes what I have written I consider it to be a bonus.
As to the two books I wrote I think that I may stick them on Kindle at some stage, when I feel like it. They will certainly be no worse than some of the books on there (no names). But I think that I will put them on very cheap, at least until some stage where I do a second or third draft of them. And I can’t see a second draft appearing any time soon.
Strange Days is a book about the collapse of reality (or is it?) and a work of fiction which writes itself into the real world. It is, perhaps, not the most original idea. But I needed something which I could write quickly without much pause for thought. Reality going insane is one of the things which I have no problem in writing. I don’t want to say too much else about the novel as I don’t want to spoil it for anybody foolish enough to buy a copy on the Amazon Kindle store.
Blank New World is set in a world where Trump is President of the United States of America. It is set in the very near future, and is a world where, in terms of foreign affairs, things are pretty much going crap. But the main protagonists of the novel are three unemployed ex-students who share a flat in an unnamed town. They spend their time playing console games or watching television or going to the pub (when they can afford it). The novel describes a week in their world. I got the title of the novel after watching an episode of Pointless. It had a round where contestants had to fit in the blanks in the titles of famous books. One of them was ________ New World – or, as Alexander Armstrong called it, Blank New World. I liked the title so much that I decided to use it as the title for my second NaNoWriMo novel. I don’t need to tell any of you that the correct answer to that Pointless question was Brave New World, by the great Aldous Huxley.
Since the end of November I have begun a science fiction novel called Psionex-328. It is a novel in which psionics play a big part, in a dystopian future world. But I have only written the first three thousand words so far. I am still working out the details of the plot inside my head. While I work out the details I work on other things, such as posts to this website and a little bit more to the Bridget Jacobson Mysteries.
Anyway, I think that is enough for now.

Leave a Reply

