A Life Of Fiction CLXXV

For those of you new to this WordPress site, this site is about me and my writing – and a little about my role-playing, as well. It gives readers a chance to sample my work; and gives me the chance to say a little about the genesis of each novel, or about the process of writing in general.

Writing short stuff: As I have said, in the past, I am now on Twitter. Not that I actually tweet very often. I do not always have anything worthwhile to say, and I am not going to bore anybody with the minutiae of my day.
I do like the fact that you only get one hundred and forty characters on Twitter. That forces you not to meander all over the place while you are writing. I should probably state, here, that I am a big fan of haikus. I have also done a collection of prose stories which were exactly one hundred words long. One of them is featured below:

Red Ferrari

Roderick has bought a shiny bright red Ferrari to compensate for the fact that he has turned forty, and short, and going bald. He thinks that he’ll pull the women now. He is tired of going home alone on a Friday night. But alcohol and fast cars do not mix when being used by men who are not used to handling either; and all that Roderick achieves is wrapping his car around a tree. His safety belt saves him, albeit not his bruised pride, and he has to settle for his old battered Mini as a more accurate penis extension.

You can, of course, be more succinct than that. Here is a short story of only one hundred characters. It was originally written with the idea of doing a whole series of Twitter fiction:

My seafront chips, hot, vinegary, wrapped in old papers, are stolen from my hand by a gull. Two decades later I return with my sniper rifle.

And here is a haiku, one of the shortest verse forms:

ToyTiger

The striped Toy Tiger
Pouncing with feline fury
Plays with the toy mouse.

With writing short pieces let yourself be liberated by only having a few words with which to work. You will find yourself choosing your words very carefully. You can spend as long composing a haiku as on a sonnet. Writing short pieces can be a very good exercise, even if you do not intend to ever publish them.
Be succinct. Remember the saying that brevity is the soul of wit. Try not to repeat yourself.
Hm. A short piece on writing tersely.

Leave a Reply

